Skip to content Skip to navigation
Tay Descent open canoe


Scottish Canoe Association

Caledonia House
1 Redheughs Rigg
EH12 9DQ

Phone:  0131 317 7314

The SCA office phone is answered weekdays 08:30-15:30 and there is an answering machine. 

Alternatively you can complete our online enquiry form below.

General enquiries:
Coaching enquiries:
Campsite Bookings & Enquiries:
Website feedback:


Grandtully Campsite 

Lageonan Road, Grandtully, Pitlochry PH9 0PL

Bookings & Enquiries: 07760 117641


The SCA is a volunteer led organisation. It employs staff as follows:

Chief Executive Stuart Smith
07710 012019
Head of Performance & Pathways Jon Schofield
07921 714788

Head of Coaching & Development

Lead Child Safeguarding Officer 

Andy Murray
07900 887007
Operations Manager Claire Fergusson
0131 317 7314 / 07540 797993
Event and Communication Officer Mikaela West (Mon-Tue, Thu-Fri)
0131 317 7314 / 07825 758023
Development Manager Roger Holmes
07826 334698
Administrator Margaret Winter (Mon-Thu)
0131 317 7314

Coach & Pathway Developer

Doug MacDonald (Mon-Tue, Thu-Fri)
07712 511564

Performance Coach - Sprint

Anton Vazquez
07798 741259

Performance Coach - Slalom

Stuart Gerrie
07731 076210

SCA Grandtully Campsite
Bookings & Enquries: 07760 117641

Regional Officers

Each region has it's own Regional Officer, who's purpose is to:

  • Support the delivery of SCA strategy within the region
  • Act as a regional contact for SCA members, affiliated clubs and centres linking them to SCA volunteers, committees and staff as appropriate
  • Support SCA coaching and development work in the region
  • Represent the SCA Coaching Service within the region
  • Be a regional ambassador for SCA and British Canoeing

If you have any related questions, feel free to contact your Regional Officer and/or join the regional facebook groups. 



Regional Facebook Group

RO Borders Bob Baird
SCA Borders Support Group
RO Central Elizabeth Cain
SCA Central, Fife & Tayside Support Group
RO Fife

Tom Westwater

SCA Central, Fife & Tayside Support Group
RO Tayside Kevin Knox
07713 165947
SCA Central, Fife & Tayside Support Group
RO Grampian and Shetland Lyle Smith
07974 431153
SCA Grampian & Shetland Support Group
RO Highlands and Islands

Chris Wilson & Kate Duffus

SCA Highlands & Islands Support Group
RO Lothians

Poppy Croal McKenzie

SCA Lothians Support Group
RO South West Calum McNicol
SCA West & South West Support Group
RO West

Steve Frampton

SCA West & South West Support Group

Regional Areas are defined as:

Grampian and Shetland: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Shetland, Moray
Central: Falkirk, Stirling, Clackmannan
Tayside: Perth & Kinross, Dundee, Angus
West: East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, Argyll and Bute, North Lanarkshire, Glasgow
South West: Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire, Inverclyde, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, Renfewshire, East Renfrewshire, North Ayrshire
Lothians: West Lothian, East Lothian, Midlothian and Edinburgh


Coaching Committee
Polo Committee
Recreation Committee
Slalom Committee
Sprint Committee
Surf Committee
Marathon Committee
WWR Committee
Access & Environment Policy Committee

Access Advisors



Aberdeenshire Harbours Donald Thomson
01975 564562 (H)
07778 479733 (M)
Allt Mhuic

Bridget Thomas


Callum Anderson

Averon, Blackwater and Carron (Ross-shire)

Bernie McGee
01349 861239 (H)
01349 869860 (W)

Avon (Lanarkshire) Dougie Shannon 
07552 212558

Ayr, Doon (Ayrshire)

Martin Wishart

07513 048709


Dave Bleazard
01631 566617

Blackwater Mary Conacher 

Braan (Perthshire)

Mark French

Caithness Rivers, Helmsdale, Turso etc

Colin Matheson
07876 781495
01955 605666

Caledonian Canal (Lochaber)

Donald MacPherson
07808 071810

Clyde, Kelvin, Mousewater, White Cart Robin Cole

0141 357 0030

Coe, Leven


Connon, Meig (Ross-shire)

Mike Dunthorne
07793 844211


Matt Brooks

Dee (Aberdeenshire)

Jonathan Kitching
01339 885342


Lyle Smith
07974 431153 
Mary Conacher


James Fleming

Falloch, Kinglas Water

Neil Farmer
07766 331969

Falls of Lora (plus adjacent coast)

Tony Hammock
01631 710173

Feshie, Dulnain

John Mason
01479 420123

Findhorn, Avon, Divie

Jim Gibson
01340 831455

Garry (Inverness-shire)

Mike Dales
01738 500809



Inver, Shin, Oykel

John Ross
01408 621106

Leny, Teith, Allan, Earn, Orchy, Earn tributaries and Balquhidder rivers

Dave Rossetter
07769 677824

Loch Awe

Rhod Watt
07776 161653

Loch Maree

Andrew Johnston
01445 712761 (H)

Loch Lomond

Grant Dolier
07979 625573

Lochy, Loy

Chris Russell
07585 776581

Lyon (Perthshire)

Mark French


Dave Rossetter
07769 677824

Minnoch, Nith

William Muir
07966 240501


Matthew Hilton

Ness & Great Glen Trail

Donald MacPherson
07808 071810


Dave Biggin
07878 020085


Jessica Leggatt


Jessica Leggatt


Nancy Chambers

07480 648688

South Esk (Angus)

Eddie Palmer
07454 020 044


Richard Rogers
01738 552473

Tay (Stanley)

Kevin McHugh
07831 469380

Tummel Gavin Millar

Tweed (Upper)

Jim McPherson
01750 23662

Loch Maree & Poolewe

Andrew Johnston
01445 712761


Bob Baird

07596 150932



Board of Directors

Chair Brian Chapman
General Secretary Steve Roebuck
Finance Director Kelso Riddell
President David Simpson
Director Claire Chapman
Director Steve Linksted
Director Dean Hollis
Recreation Director Elizabeth Cain
Competition Director Colin Tannock