Skip to content Skip to navigation

News

New Paddlesport Leader Award - Launched!

The Paddlesport Leader Award is the latest addition to British Canoeing’s existing leadership qualifications and is specifically aimed at people leading others in a sheltered water environment, such as canals, ungraded sections of rivers, estuaries, small lakes and lochs. As from 3rd April, assessments and training courses are now available!

British Canoeing Launch New Paddlesport Leader Award

  • Available from 3rd April 2017
  • The only prerequisites are a 1 day First Aid award and British Canoeing membership
  • No formal training requirements, if you already have the required skills, book your assessment
  • An interactive E-Learning Package to support Leaders learning
  • Ideal for clubs, centres and activity providers who offer Paddlesport activity

This could be the Award for you…

The Paddlesport Leader Award is the latest addition to British Canoeing’s existing leadership qualifications and is specifically aimed at people leading others in a sheltered water environment, such as canals, ungraded sections of rivers, estuaries, small lakes and lochs. 

The Paddlesport Leader Award is designed to support leaders to run safe, quality, enjoyable trips based on their group’s needs and aspirations. 

Ideal for clubs, centres and activity providers…

The Paddlesport Leader Award is aimed at Leaders wanting to introduce others to the water and enable them to lead a variety of craft on a journey. The Leader can choose the craft from which they work, and can look after others in both single discipline and mixed fleets. This may include for example; racing craft, touring kayaks, open canoes, suitable sit-on-tops, general purpose kayaks, stand-up-paddleboards, or crew boats.

Interactive e-learning package to support your learning… 

British Canoeing will launch an online, interactive e-learning platform to support Leaders throughout the Award, introducing the key principles behind the British Canoeing Leadership Model. This will allow learners to explore, think about and develop their decision making skills, aiding their assessment preparation. 

Direct entry to assessment available…

The Award focuses on learning through experience so there is no formal requirement for training. However, clubs, centres and coaches can run bespoke training opportunities, to individuals or groups, to improve and develop Leaders skills ahead of assessment. This will aid Leaders personalised development journey. British Canoeing can also provide 2 day quality training opportunities, for those that seek them, to support leaders in the development of the required skills. It is important that Leaders undertaking the award take an active role in deciding the appropriate preparation, training and experience that is needed prior to presenting for assessment. 

 Lee Pooley, Head of Coaching and Qualifications at British Canoeing comments on the Paddlesport Leader Award, “I am really excited about this new award which complements our existing leadership qualifications. We have listened to our members and the feedback received from consultations in order to create the new Paddlesport Leader Award for which we are extremely proud of. Not only will the new award allow us to increase our numbers of Leaders and Guides, it will in turn create more opportunities to paddle in a safe environment and grow participation in canoeing.”

The first Paddlesport Leader Assessment is taking place in Scotland on the 4th April.  The following are providers who are currently trained to deliver the new award. There are a number of training courses and assessments planned for 2017, which can be seen in the Events Calendar, however it is also worth contacting one of the providers as they may be able to arrange a course on other dates to suit. 



Dave Rossetter dave.rossetter@glenmorelodge.org.uk
George Fell mail@georgefell.co.uk
Claire Knifton claire.knifton@btinternet.com
Lyle Smith mail@lylesmith.co.uk
Tom Sibbald tom@canoecoaching.co.uk
Matt Haydock haydockmatthew@gmail.com
Martyn Pegg mpegg@elcschool.org.uk
Pete White pete.white@abernethy.org.uk
Sam Dean sam.canoeing@hotmail.com
John Jackson john.jackson@falkirkcommunitytrust.org
Grant Dolier grant.dolier@gmail.com
Gill Berrow gill.berrow@btinternet.com
John Crowsley jcrowsley@btinternet.com

NB. some of the above still need to complete some final steps before delivering.