Skip to content Skip to navigation


SCA Recognition Awards 2017

The Scottish Canoe Association values the hard work of those who contribute to Paddlesports in Scotland and as such has a number of established annual awards to recognise individuals' dedication.

Do you know someone who goes way beyond the call of duty and all in the name of Paddlesports?  If so, you can nominate them for one of the categories listed below.  Nominating these individuals will ensure they receive recognition for the difference they make.


Club of the Year 
This award acknowledges the fantastic work being carried out in clubs across Scotland.  Club of the year is open to all SCA affiliated clubs and first placed club will win a year’s free club affiliation fee. The winner will be selected by considering what the club does, how well the club is organised, connected, promoted and its plans for the future. Indivdual members, club members or RCO's are welcome to nominate any affiliated club they think deserves to win. 

The Willing Hands Quaich
This award recognises outstanding service to our sport, and provides an opportunity for you to nominate someone, who acts in a voluntary capacity, and makes a significant contribution to the sport.  This could be a coach, paddler or club member.  The nominee doesn’t have to be an individual SCA member to receive this award.  

Volunteer Coach of the Year
This award is for coaches who give up their free time (and who don’t coach for a living – working within schools, clubs, youth groups, volunteer groups etc).  They pass on skills and knowledge, and encourage others to have a go and improve their paddling.  The nominee must be an SCA member.

Professional Coach of the Year
This award for someone who coaches for a living, but always goes that extra mile (main source of employment is in coaching).  The nominee must be an SCA member.

Youth Coach of the Year
The award is for a volunteer coach that dedicates much of their time to the development of junior paddlers.  The nominee must be an SCA member.

Andy Jackson Award for Contribution to Access and Environment
This award is open to those who have achieved great things working to improve/preserve access and/or conserve the canoeing environment.  Do you know someone who e.g. maintains good relations with local landowners or other water users?

President’s Award for Outstanding Performance, Service or Duty
This award is for someone who has shown outstanding performance, service or duty to canoeing.  This award is similar to the Willing Hands Quaich, but not limited to volunteers.  The nominee must be an SCA member.


If you would like to nominate someone for any of these awards, please complete a Nomination Form – available in the links below. 
Forms can be returned by post to SCA office, Caledonia House, 1 Redheughs Rigg, Edinburgh, EH12 9DQ or by e-mail to The deadline for nominations is 30th September 2017.

Winners will be announced at the SCA AGM on 11th November.