Skip to content Skip to navigation

News

Congratulations to our new Paddlesport Leaders!

The Paddlesport Leader Award was launched by British Canoeing on 3rd April, and there are 7 people in Scotland who have already taken the assessment and passed. Well done to those who have quickly made the most of this new award! 

The first assessment in the whole of the UK took place just a day after the launch, on 4th April in Fort William. Two students from West Highland College successfully passed, and were assessed by Claire Knifton. 

Zeki Basan comments "It has put everything that we have learned on our certificate in Outdoor Leadership into context and has given me the confidence to lead. The award will be useful this summer as it allows me to lead sessions rather than being limited to being an "assistant" with my BC UKCC L1 award."

Francesco Livigni, also taking the first assessment commented "You learn so much by starting to lead and take repsonsibilty for people. Simply following others or being supervised by somone does not have the same feeling of commitment."

Assessor Claire Knifton comments "From my perspective, its great to see these students achieve an award that allows them to be deployed autonomously. Over the year they have built up a number of qualifications (3 x 3* and BC UKCC L1) but passing this assessment pulls all of those together into a useful award. It's also great to have Grant along as an observer in order to complete his providership - as he is a former WHC student himself."

The Paddlesport Leader Award is the latest addition to British Canoeing’s existing leadership qualifications and is specifically aimed at people leading others in a sheltered water environment, such as canals, ungraded sections of rivers, estuaries, small lakes and lochs.

For more information on the new award, click here. There are currently 11 providers of the award, strategically placed around Scotland. If you are interested in taking either the assessment or participating in an official training course, we recommended you get in touch with one of the following providers to arrange a date. 

Dave Rossetter    dave.rossetter@glenmorelodge.org.uk - Highlands 
George Fell    mail@georgefell.co.uk - Central
Claire Knifton    claire.knifton@btinternet.com - Highlands
Lyle Smith    mail@lylesmith.co.uk - Grampian
Tom Sibbald    tom@canoecoaching.co.uk - Tayside
Matt Haydock    haydockmatthew@gmail.com - Highlands
Martyn Pegg    mpegg@elcschool.org.uk - Borders & Lothians
Pete White    pete.white@abernethy.org.uk - Tayside
Sam Dean    sam.canoeing@hotmail.com - Central
John Jackson    john.jackson@falkirkcommunitytrust.org - Central
Grant Dolier    grant.dolier@gmail.com - West
Gill Berrow    gill.berrow@btinternet.com - West
John Crowsley    jcrowsley@btinternet.com - Highlands