Skip to content Skip to navigation
White water - Canoe Scotland

Water Releases

Wild Water Racing - Canoe Scotland

Water Releases

White water - Canoe Scotland

Water Releases

White water - Canoe Scotland

Water Releases

1
2
3
4

SEPA have control over freshet releases on larger scale hydro schemes in Scotland and it is important to note that not every river scheme has a scheduled freshet. The SCA liaises with SEPA and has secured (where possible) alternative times for releases to suit paddlers and events in those areas. 

We have attempted to 'pull' the most useful information from the SEPA document and present it in a reasonably user friendly manner.  We have included all of the rivers where we know or suspect white water paddling is affected by freshet releases.  If in doubt, you should check the original document.  Please contact us with any errors or omissions.

Below are details for the Garry (near Fort William), Lyon, Upper and Lower Tummel and Moriston.  Details as to how the freshet on the Lyon affects the whitewater section are limited, but it seems likely that the water will take 24-36 hours to reach the whitewater section.  If you find out more, please contact us. 

River Awe

1 May – 23 December
 
The first release will take place on Saturday 30th April 2016 starting at 08:00 and finishing at 20:00.
 
Releases will take place on the following Sundays at 08:00 for 24 hours
31st July
28th August
25th September 
 
Thereafter releases will take place on the following Fridays commencing at 12:00 for three days (72 hours)
14th October
28th October
11th November
25th November
9th December
23rd December 

River Garry

River Garry

In 2016: Each release starts at 0800 and lasts until 0400 the following day (except on Saturday 30th July and Sunday 11th September when it will commence at 06:00 and continue until 19:00 on the same day).

Thursday 24th March

Thursday 31st March

Saturday 2nd April

Thursday 7th April

Thursday 14th April

Thursday 21st April

Thursday 28th April

Friday 29th April

Thursday 5th May

Thursday 12th May

Thursday 19th May

Thursday 26th May

Saturday 28th May

Thursday 2nd June

Thursday 9th June

Wednesday 15th June

Thursday 23rd June

Thursday 30th June

Saturday 2nd July

Thursday 7th July

Saturday 9th July

Thursday 14th July

Saturday 16th July

Thursday 21st July

Thursday 28th July

Saturday 30th July

Thursday 4th August

Saturday 6th August

Thursday 11th August

Saturday 13th August

Thursday 18th August

Thursday 25th August

Thursday 1st September

Sunday 11th September

Thursday 15th September

Thursday 22nd September

Thursday 6th October

Thursday 13th October

Thursday 20th October

Thursday 27th October

River Lyon

River Lyon 

Stronuich (upper Glen Lyon, Grid reference NN5073 4200)  This scheme is a long way upstream of the whitewater section described in the SCA whitewater guide.  The release on the River Lyon arrives at the McGregors Leap (SCA described) section on the next day. It is runnable in the morning but better in the afternoon. Thanks to Neill Wardman for the information.  For 2016 only, due to essential maintenance work, freshets may be released from Giorra Dam, with prior notification to SEPA. 

Release will start at 1500 on the stated day, finishing at 1100 following day.   

Monday 18th April
Tuesday 26th April
Thursday 5th May
Monday 9th May
Wednesday 18th May
Thursday 26th May
Friday 3th June
Tuesday 7th June
Wednesday 15th June
Thursday 23th June
Monday 27th June
Tuesday 5th July
Friday 15th July
Wednesday 20th July
Thursday 28th July
Monday 1st August
Tuesday 9th August
Tuesday 16th August
Wednesday 24th August
Thursday 1st September
Thursday 8th September
Wednesday 14th September
Thursday 21st September
Thursday 29th September
Tuesday 4th October

River Moriston (Dundreggan Dam)

River Moriston

1st May - 31st October 2016: Releases commence at 11:00 every Tuesday until 16:00 the next day.

The SCA has secured releases once a month on a Saturday instead of a Tuesday (w/c 6th June, 11th July, 8th August, and 4th September, as listed below).  Weekend releases start at 09.00 on Saturday until 14:00 Sunday. Paddlers must manage themselves appropriately (parking, changing, litter, etc) or these releases will not happen in future years. Please help us to show our contributions to the community and stay/buy things in the local area.

Weekend releases: 
Saturday 11th June 
Saturday 16th July 
Saturday 13th August 
Saturday 10th September

Upper Tummel (Dunalastair Dam)

Upper Tummel, Dunalastair

2016: Starting at 1400 on stated day, lasting until 1300 on the third day

Except Friday 1st July and Friday 26th August where releases start at 1500 and last for 66hours.

Wednesday 1st June
Monday 13th June
Wednesday 22nd June
Friday 1st July
Wednesday 13th July
Monday 25th July
Wednesday 3rd August
Monday 15th August
Friday 26th August
Monday 5th September
Wednesday 14th September
Monday 26th September
Wednesday 5th October
Monday 17th October
Wednesday 26th October

Lower Tummel (Clunie)

Lower Tummel (Clunie)

1st June – 30th September 2016

Once a week on Friday starting at 16:00 until 08:00 on Monday.